Early and absentee-by-mail voting for the Nov. 5 election begins Monday, Oct. 14, at the Jackson County Elections and Registration Office in Jefferson for all cities across Jackson County.

Candidates on the ballot include:

•Braselton Town Council District 1 — Becky Richardson (I), Joy Basham and Richard Mayberry.

•Braselton Town Council District 3 — Tony Funari (I) and Jim Joedecke.

•Hoschton City Council seats, Posts 5 and 6 — Mindi Kiewert (I), Shantwon Astin and Adam Ledbetter. The top two vote-getters will secure the two seats.

During the final week of early voting, Oct. 28-Nov. 1, Braselton voters can only cast their votes at the Braselton Police and Municipal Court Building.

Meanwhile, voters in the other cities can cast their ballots at any of the early voting locations during the final week of early voting.

Those early voting locations are: Jackson County Elections and Registration Office, 441 Gordon St., Jefferson; Commerce Parks and Rec, 204 Carson St., Commerce; and Braselton Police and Municipal Court building, 5040 Hwy. 53, Braselton.

Early voting hours are Mondays-Fridays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.


Polls will be open on Election Day, Nov. 5, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Polling locations include:

Braselton — Police and Municipal Court Building, 5040 Hwy. 53, Braselton.

Hoschton — Hoschton Depot – 4272 Hwy. 53, Hoschton.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.