Taking the oath

Hoschton City Council members elected during the November 2021 races took the oath of office on Monday (Jan. 3) at the city's train depot. Pictured (L to R) are council members Scott Mims, Fredria Sterling, Tracy Carswell, James Lawson, mayor Lauren O'Leary and city attorney Abb Hayes. Mims, Sterling and O'Leary are serving their first terms, while Carswell and Lawson return to the council, having won new terms. The council also elected councilman Adam Ledbetter as the city's mayor pro-tem with a 6-1 vote. O'Leary cast the lone "no" vote. 


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.