A7 A7

Maysville Elementary School student, Josh Cates, won a prize as part of the "SOARing behavior" program.

Information on submitting school news

Announcements and photos for school-related activities may be submitted to MainStreet Newspapers by school officials and/or parents.

Each photo should be clear and in focus and include a description of the events happening in the photo. Photos of poor quality may not be published.

Photos should not be attached to a Microsoft Word document, but attached within an e-mail. When using a digital camera, please ensure the camera is set at a medium quality setting to produce the best quality photos. Photos taken at a low resolution may not publish well.

The first and last names of those shown in the photo, including adults, must be submitted. Please ensure that all names are spelled correctly.

Educators and parents may also submit announcements, such as special events and learning activities.

Honor rolls and perfect attendance lists may also be submitted according to the format preferred by MainStreet Newspapers.

School news will be published according to available space.

For more information or to submit school news, e-mail angela@mainstreetnews.com.

Linda Dutil, an emergency department nurse from Waterville, Maine, spoke to to Maysville Elementary School fifth graders about the dangers of drugs, alcohol and tobacco. She is passionate about helping students understand the consequences of poor choices and travels around the United States and shares her experience of working with young people who made poor choices. The sponsor for this program is Kathleen Mansfield, the marketing manager and social responsibility coordinator for Leon Farmer Co. in Athens. This company has sponsored this program for the past 19 years. Students shown are Josh Malloch and Avery McCullom.

The Banks County High School FFA Chapter attended the Area Two North Region Rally in Covington on Sept. 5 and 6. They participated in events such as: Forest ID, FFA quiz, animal science ID, ag mechanics, and many more events. While at Region Rally, Banks County was recognized as a top 10 chapter. Those who attended are: from (left to right) top row: Blake Johnson, David Adams, Grayson Segers, Lance Johnson, Owen Evans, Tanner Foster, Ryan Crumley, Trey Nash, (bottom row) Megan Burell, Jade Moye, Harley McDonald, Madison Dacus, Suzie Hewell, Laura Davis and Savanah Magness. Not pictured are Mathew Anderson and Payton Jackson.