Early voting opens next week for the Nov. 2 General Municipal Election.

Those wishing to vote early may do so beginning Tuesday, Oct. 12. Early voting will be held Mondays-Fridays from Oct. 12-Oct. 29 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Two Saturday voting options are scheduled on Oct. 16 and Oct. 23 (both from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.).

Early voting will be held at the Ponchie Beck Election Center, 441 Gordon St., Jefferson.


A drop-box for absentee ballots will be located inside the Ponchie Beck Election Center during all early voting hours. The drop-box will close Oct. 29 at 5 p.m.

Those dropping off an absentee ballot on Election Day, Nov. 2, may give their ballot to elections staff at 441 Gordon St., Jefferson. Ballots must be dropped off by 7 p.m. (Absentee ballots will not be accepted at individual polling locations on Election Day.)

Absentee ballot applications may be submitted by Oct. 22 at 5 p.m.


Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day, Nov. 2. Polling locations include:

  • Arcade — Arcade City Hall, 3325 Athens Hwy., Jefferson
  • Braselton — Police & Municipal Court Building, 5040 Hwy. 53, Braselton
  • Commerce — Commerce Park & Rec., 204 Carson St., Commerce
  • Hoschton — Hoschton Train Depot, 4272 Hwy. 53, Hoschton
  • Jefferson — Jefferson Civic Center, 65 Kissam St., Jefferson
  • Nicholson — Nicholson City Hall (Benton Center), 5488 Hwy. 441, Nicholson


Elections are planned in Arcade, Braselton, Commerce, Hoschton, Jefferson and Nicholson. Candidate questionnaires will be published in the Oct. 13 issue of The Jackson Herald.

In Arcade, four people qualified for two at-large council seats, including incumbents Debra Gammon and Ron Smith, along with challengers Leah Hollett and Steven Kirby Lavender.

All three of Braselton's races are contested. In the mayoral race, Hardy Johnson, former councilman in District 4, will face Kurt Ward. Mayor Bill Orr is not seeking reelection. James Murphy and Jeff Gardner qualified for the Braselton Town Council District 4 seat. And District 2 incumbent, Peggy Slappey, will face challenger Richard Harper.

In Commerce, Eric Gatheright and Andre Rollins are vying for the Commerce City Council Ward 1 seat. Incumbent Archie Chaney is not seeking reelection. City Council Ward 2 incumbent, Darren Owensby, will face challenger, Brad Coker. Commerce residents will also have a change to vote on a referendum on whether to allow the sale of distilled spirits in town.

In Hoschton, Lauren O'Leary is challenging incumbent mayor Shannon Sell.

In Jefferson, City Council District 2 incumbent Malcolm Gramley will face challenger Dawn Maddox.

In Nicholson, Thomas Gary, incumbent; Dusty Durst, incumbent; and Joshua Burkhalter qualified for two at-large council seats.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.