The Madison County board of education recognized the Teachers of the Year and Support Person of the Year from each school, as well as the system-wide winners at their regular business meeting Aug. 9. MCHS language/arts teacher Trent Wilkes was recognized as the system-wide Teacher of the Year and Danielsville Elementary’s Gail Cochran was recognized as the system-wide Support Person of the Year.

Other Teachers of the Year from their respective schools are: Lorie Skelton (Colbert), Ruthie Holloman (Comer), Kim Fortson (Danielsville), Teresa Bishop (Hull), Leann Kidd (Ila) and Jeanie Glenn (MCMS).

Other Support Persons of the Year from their respective schools are: Paula Radford (Colbert), Angela Gantt (Comer), Courtney Seagraves (Hull), Karen Frank (Ila), Pam Hall (MCMS) and Lisa Osburn (MCHS).

In other news, assistant superintendent Bonnie Knight reported a smooth start to the first day of school on Friday, Aug. 5.

She said all bus riders were unloaded for school by 8 a.m. and delivered home by 5 p.m. She told the board the system is still moving forward with a bus arm camera project, but that it will likely be January before real progress is made as they bring the newly-elected sheriff into the communication loop.

The board approved the 2016 property tax millage rate for the operating budget at 16.99 mills.


The board approved the following personnel recommendations at its board meeting Tuesday night.

Colbert – They hired Kathy Wheeler as a 49 percent math teacher and Kayla Legg as a preK SPED parapro. They also accepted the resignation of SPED parapro Melissa Beach and granted medical FMLA to principal Chris Forrer for Aug. 15 through Oct. 28.

Comer – They hired parapro Christel Hall to replace Felisha Fitzpatrick, who resigned.

They also hired afterschool workers Cason Collier, Baylee Roberts, Sydney Graham and Leah Scarborough.

Danielsville – They hired Angela Shubert as a parapro and Kathy Hardman as an afterschool worker.

Hull-Sanford – They hired Janet Colvard as a long-term sub for Catherine Smith. They also granted leave without pay for SPED parapro.

Ila – They accepted the resignation of parapro Jamie Tucker.

MCHS – they granted FMLA maternity leave to secretary Tammy Jones for Sept. 12 through Nov. 4.

Transportation – They hired Brandon Johnson, Danielle Carter, Vinton Green and Consuela Mason as call-in sub bus monitors and they hired Zachary Hawks, Cheryl George and Clarence Mitchell Sartain as bus drivers. They accepted the resignations of PT SPED monitor Taylor Bruce, and bus drivers Terri Sheridan, James Jones, Linda Wages (who will remain as a call-in sub) and Sonya King.

They granted leave without pay to bus driver April Knott and they accepted the retirement of Debbie Brown (who will drive the first three weeks as a call-in sub).

Nutrition – They accepted the resignation of food assistant Aprilla Hankins.

Student services – They hired psychologist Janna Hazle to replace Mary Lovelace.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.